Thank you to this duck for reminding me of an important life lesson.

Image

Yesterday I had an appointment, but I was so engrossed in my work, the time got away from me and I looked at my watch and knew that I would be late. As a natural tendency, I tend more towards meandering through life allowing for the space to get lost in moments. However, deadlines, appointments and the click of the clock are realities. Thus, I must give in to following their rules(sometimes). I quickly dressed and gathered my things telling everyone around me, “I’m late!!!” as if speaking the words make the situation better. All it really did was excite those around me so that we were all now joined in an effort to get me out the door. I grabbed the keys and rushed down to my car in the parking garage. I must have come through the door quickly, because the person on the other side of it said ,”o!” and seemed surprised to see me. I apologized and said good morning and slowed my pace a bit, realizing that an extra step in my step wouldn’t actually solve the time crunch either. The situation was what it was. I was about 5 minutes late. Despite my natural tendency for leisure, I actually do not like being late. I feel as if I am keeping someone and being disrespectful to them. In addition, if I am paying for a session, I realize by me being late, I am not getting all I could be getting out of it. Also, there are some situations where being late can take on a whole different light. For example, walking in late to a meeting or a class and having to squeeze by a ton of people saying, “excuse me, excuse me, sorry, excuse me.” Talk about not blending into the back.

But on yesterday morning I took a deep breath and accepted the fact that no matter how fast I drove, walked, didn’t look at the clock, I would inevitably be late. As I was thinking about just this, a duck decided to cross my path and walk from one side of the road to the other. It was a single lane road, and there was no way to go around the duck. I had to come to a complete stop and wait as the duck casually strolled across. I can’t believe he or she had the nerve to inconvenience me, can you?

So what was the lesson taught unknowingly by Ms. or Mr. Duck? Well, I came up with a few.

-No matter how much you rush or plan or want things to go a certain way, sometimes life places things in your way that you must confront and deal with.

-Acceptance- Sometimes you can not change a situation and you must accept it the way it is. You do not have to like it or think it is great, but sometimes accepting it makes all the difference.

It’s not about the duck. Meaning, sometimes I have gotten upset about barriers in my way and blamed the barrier. This has been a very narrow way to look at a situation. What lead up to the duck crossing, was me spending too much time doing work. Had I been 10 minutes early, the duck crossing would have been just a neutral part of another day. The duck really did not care if I was late or not, it merely wanted to get to the other side.

-Nature is all around to teach us things. We are a part of this miraculous creation called nature that we live in. Trees, plants and all of life have been around for billions of years and over that time they have picked up some pretty good lessons. When I begin to open my eyes and look around and explore, I am more and more amazed by these lessons. When you look at how plants and animals adapt, it shows that resiliency is a part of what it means to be alive.

So I tip my hat(metaphorically) to the duck and I am off for a walk outside to breathe in the fresh air. I hope that anyone that may read this have a wonderful day. Don’t forget to look outside and around you, you might be delightfully surprised by what you learn.

5 thoughts on “Thank you to this duck for reminding me of an important life lesson.

Leave a Reply

